Santa Clarita Valley History In Pictures

SCV Man & Woman of the Year.

The Santa Clarita Valley Man & Woman of the Year, as the title is known today, was started by the Newhall-Saugus Chamber of Commerce as the "Outstanding Citizen of the Year." (Initially only one person was honored each year.) The Newhall-Saugus Chamber became the SCV Chamber of Commerce, which organized the contest for a number of years. Today the event is operated by the SCV Man & Woman of the Year Committee, an independent nonprofit organization. Winners are selected by the committee, which consists of all prior recipients who are still alive. Honorees receive a cash award that they may give to the charity of their choice.

NOTE: William Bonelli was named "Oustanding Citizen of the Year" in 1966.

1964 Arthur B. Perkins none
1965 George Harris none
1966 William Bonelli Jr. none
1967 none none
1968 Bill Kohlmeier none
1969 Chuck Hendrickson none
1970 Ed Bolden none
1971 none Olive Ruby
1972 Bill Millsap Bobbie Trueblood (Davis)
1973 Rev. Samuel Dixon Jereann Bowman
1974 Judge C.M. MacDougall Flo Chesebrough
1975 Rene Veluzat Connie Worden (Roberts)
1976 Dick Millar Joyce Wayman
1977 Steve Hall Sara Faye Wood
1978 Dan Hon Juanita Heinly
1979 John Fuller Anne Lynch
1980 Judge Adrian Adams Betty Pember
1981 Fred Trueblood III Margaret Schulte
1982 none none
1983 Samuel X. Garcia Barbara Stearns (Cochran)
1984 Milt Diamond Jo Anne Darcy
1985 Tony Newhall Carmen Sarro
1986 Larry Margolis Mary Spring
1987 Frank Lorelli Ruth Newhall
1988 Tom Veloz Betty Castleberry
1989 Dick Keysor Jami Kennedy
1990 Louis Garasi Rita Garasi
1991 Jack Boyer Ruth Clark
1992 H. Clyde Smyth Catherine Clark
1993 Stan Sierad Betty Burke
1994 Dr. Alan Barbakow Pat Allen
1995 Sheldon Allen Laurene Weste McCarthy
1996 Chuck Clark Charlotte Kleeman
1997 George Pederson Pat Warford
1998 Bob Kellar Roberta Veloz
1999 John Hoskinson Pat Willett
2000 Tom Lee Betty Seldner
2001 Steve Schmidt Joyce Carson
2002 Frank Kleeman Adele Macpherson
2003 Duane Harte Linda Pedersen
2004 Don Fleming Cheri Fleming
2005 Gary Condie Jeri Seratti-Goldman
2006 Michael Berger Diana Cusumano
2007 Greg Nutter Jeanna Crawford
2008 Carl Goldman Judy Penman
2009 Greg Amsler Nancy Coulter Nominees
2010 Wayne Crawford Mary Ann Colf Nominees
2011 Harry Bell Candy Spahr Nominees: Men Women
2012 Tom Dierckman Myrna Condie Nominees
2013 Steve Sturgeon Elizabeth Hopp
2014 William Lively Cheryl Gray
2015 Leon Worden Sue Endress Nominees
2016 Jim Lentini Lois Bauccio Nominees
2017 Eric Stroh Laina McFerren Nominees
2018 Nick Lentini Gloria Mercado-Fortine Nominees
2019 Ed Masterson Pam Ingram Nominees




2019 Event Photos

RETURN TO TOP ]   RETURN TO MAIN INDEX ]   PHOTO CREDITS ]   BIBLIOGRAPHY ]   BOOKS FOR SALE ] is another service of SCVTV, a 501c3 Nonprofit • Site contents ©SCVTV
The site owner makes no assertions as to ownership of any original copyrights to digitized images. However, these images are intended for Personal or Research use only. Any other kind of use, including but not limited to commercial or scholarly publication in any medium or format, public exhibition, or use online or in a web site, may be subject to additional restrictions including but not limited to the copyrights held by parties other than the site owner. USERS ARE SOLELY RESPONSIBLE for determining the existence of such rights and for obtaining any permissions and/or paying associated fees necessary for the proposed use.