Santa Clarita Valley History In Pictures
> NEWHALL
Railroad Avenue
Newhall, California


Click image to enlarge

View of Railroad Avenue, Newhall, around 1900. Presumably a real photo postcard.

Off-center at left is the Oil Exchange, a saloon for oilmen. At right is Lindenfeld & Landell's general store, formerly Campton's. It doubled as Newhall's post office.

This image is a testament to Newhall's changing street names. You'll note it says "Main St." At the time, it was indeed Newhall's main street. Most of the businesses were oriented toward it until 1914, when most of the merchants picked up and moved one block west to Spruce Street.

In 1900 Railroad Avenue actually had three names: Railroad Avenue, as shown on Newhall's original plat map; as well as Main Street and San Fernando Road. No kidding.

During the latter half of the 20th Century, Spruce Street was called San Fernando Road. At the beginning of the 21st Century, the City of Santa Clarita changed the name of Spruce/San Fernando again — to Main Street. Today, at least as of 2012, Railroad Avenue has just one name — Railroad Avenue — and Main Street is one block over.


MS0157: 9600 dpi jpeg from copy print | Same as AP1525
RAILROAD AVENUE

See Also:
• Campton's Store
• Gulley-Swall Store
• Powell Home
• Southern Hotel


thumbnail

New Townsite 1878

thumbnail

Newhall ~1879

thumbnail

Description 9-26-1882

thumbnail

1887

thumbnail

1890-1891

thumbnail

1890s

thumbnail

~1900

thumbnail

Hanging Tree

thumbnail

~1910

thumbnail

~1910s

thumbnail

1911-1912

thumbnail

Early 1910s

thumbnail

FILM: Broken Ways 1913

thumbnail

1916

thumbnail

Redevelopment Starts 1997

RETURN TO TOP ]   RETURN TO MAIN INDEX ]   PHOTO CREDITS ]   BIBLIOGRAPHY ]   BOOKS FOR SALE ]
SCVHistory.com is another service of SCVTV, a 501c3 Nonprofit • Site contents ©SCVTV • Additional copyrights apply